 |
Library Barcode Required |
 |
Electronic Book (eBook) |
 |
Print Resource |
 |
DVD Video |
 |
Additional Information |
 |
Open Access Resource |
 |
Website |
 |
Newly Added Resource |
 |
WorldCat Link |
The following reference works are shelved on the main floor of the Wolfgram Library.
French College Dictionary by
The college edition of HarperCollins Robert French Dictionary offers comprehensive covergae of both French and English, providing up-to-date coverage of buisness, political, and technical terms. The dictionary also includes extensive examples to illustrate how words are used in context, giving you the edge in speaking, reading, and writing French as it is used today.
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by
The Oxford-Hachette Franch Dictionary is the first bilingual dictionary to be compiled entirely from electronic databases of current language, making it the most comprehensive, reliable, and up-to-date reference available. The new edition provides the most recent vocabulary for both French and English, as well as additional new supplementary material, most notably, a new encyclopedic supplement that provides a wealth of information on French society and culture, including famous places, regions, acronyms, institutions, film, politics, much more. Of course, the Hachette still provides the most comprehensive coverage available of the general, scientific, and technical vocabulary of contemporary French and English--with 355,000 words and phrases and over 540,000 translations. As an aid to students of French literature, the dictionary provides excellent coverage of vocabulary used by writers such as Zola, Dumas, Proust, and Hugo. There is also over 90 pages of practical guidance for those who plan to reside in France, including over 100 model letters and postcards, help in writing job applications and CVs, and a completely new section on using the telephone in France. With more words and phrases than any other single-volume French dictionary, plus special features designed to help both students and travelers, the new edition of The Oxford Hachette French Dictionary remains the first choice in bilingual dictionaries.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature by
The earliest known literary productions by women living in Europe were probably written by French writers. As early as the 12th century, women troubadours in the south of France were writing poems. French women continued writing through the ages, their number increasing as education became more available to women of all classes. And yet, of the great number of works by women writers who preceded the current feminist movement, very few have survived. A few writers such as Marie de France, George Sand, and Simone de Beauvoir became part of the canon. But critics, mostly male, had judged the works of only a few women writers worthy of recognition. As part of the feminist move to reclaim women writers and to rethink literary history, scholars in French literature began to take a new look at women writers who had been popular during their lifetimes but who had not been admitted into the canon. This reference book provides extensive information about French women writers and the world in which they lived. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries for authors; literary genres, such as the novel, poetry, and the short story; literary movements, such as classicism, realism, and surrealism; life-cycle events particular to women, such as menstruation and menopause; events and institutions which affected women differently than men, such as revolutions, wars, and laws on marriage, divorce, and education. The volume spans French literature from the Middle Ages to the present and covers those writers who lived and worked mainly in France. The entries are written by expert contributors and each includes bibliographical information. The entries focus on each writer's awareness of how her gender shaped her outlook and opportunities, on how categorizations, structures, and terms used to describe literary works have been defined for women, and the ways in which women writers have responded to these definitions. The volume begins with a feminist history of French literature and concludes with a selected, general bibliography and a chronology of women writers.
Historical Dictionary of French Literature by
Almost all of us know French literature, even if we don t know French, because it is probably the second largest and certainly the most translated into English. And, even if we don t read, we would have seen film and television versions (think Count of Monte-Cristo) and even a musical rendition (Les Mis). So this is a particularly interesting volume in the literature series, since it covers French literature from the earliest times to the present. It is also a particularly rich literature, espousing ever genre from poetry, to novel, to biography, to drama, and adopting every style, including realism and surrealism, and expressing the views of all classes and political stands, with recently strong feminist and gay strains. Obviously, the core dictionary section includes among its panoply of often substantial and detailed entries, hundreds of authors, dozens of significant works, the various styles mentioned above and many others, events that have impacted literature such as the Dreyfus Affair and the Algerian War, and literary prizes. The chronology manages to cover about 1,200 years of literary output. And the introduction sets it all out neatly from one historical and literary period to the next. The bibliography, broken down by period and author, directs us to further reading in both French and English."
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French by
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French is far more than a simple revision of the original Oxford Companion to French Literature, published in 1959, and described by The Listener as the `standard work of reference for English-speaking enquirers into French literature'. As the changein title implies, this completely new work presents an authoritative guide not only to ten centuries of literature produced in the territory now called France, but also to the rich literary output of other French-speaking countries around the world. The scope of the Companion is deliberately open and inclusive, challenging and extending the traditional canon. Literature is understood in a broad sense, ranging from strip cartoon and pamphlet to tragedy and epic, and particular attention is devoted to francophone writing from outside France.Written by an international team of specialists, entries cover individual authors and works - over 3,000 of them - from the troubadours to Cesaire, and from La Princesse de Cleves to La Vie mode d'emploi. Each is discussed in detail within their historical, cultural, and intellectual context. Among the new features of the Companion are the substantial essay-entries, reflecting up-to-date scholarship and theoretical debates on topics such as: - literary movements and genres - historical subjects such as chivalry, or Occupation and Resistance in wartime France - movements of thought from Scholasticism to feminism - linguistic topics - the sciences - the arts and media, including opera, cinema, and press As a divertissement for readers, an entry on `Quotations' lists 100 well-known quotations from the canon of French literature. Adventurous and wide-ranging, The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French will be an indispensable and hugely enjoyable reference work for all scholars, students and general readers.
Access to eBooks will require your library barcode information for access.
A Short History of French Literature by
This book traces the history of French literature from its beginnings to the present. Within its remarkably brief compass, it offers a wide-ranging, personal, and detailed account of major writers and movements. Developments in French literature are presented in an innovative way, not as aneven sequence of literary events but as a series of stories told at varying pace and with different kinds of focus. Readers can thus take in the broad sweep of historical change, grasp the main characteristics of major periods, or enjoy a close appraisal of individual works and their contexts. Thebook is written in an accessible and non-technical style that will make it attractive to students and to all those who enjoy French Literature.
