Skip to main content

LibGuides

ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan Navigation

Manual Request

  1. new request navigation bar in Illiad Logon to the ILLiad system
  2. From the New Request section of the navigation bar, select the type of request you want to make (i.e., Article, Book, Book Chapter, etc.), this will bring you directly to the request form for that specific item type.

NOTE: Only the fields in the request form marked with a red * are required, though we suggest you provide as much information  as possible (even if it is optional) to ensure timely processing of your request.

      3. Enter details for the material you are requesting

When filling out the request form:

  • Ask yourself "when is my project due?" when choosing the Not Wanted After Date:
    Give yourself enough time for the request processing (usually within about 7-10 days) AND the time needed to read/study the requested material once it arrives.
  • The bottom of the request form has a space to include information about where you learned of item you are requesting. This additional information helps with our collection development efforts by making us aware of any gaps in coverage for resources our students need.

      4. Once you have entered all of the information, submit your request.

You will receive an email notification once the requested material has been processed and delivered.

Below is an example of the Article Request form.

example of an article request form, as described above

Linking to ILLiad from Database(s)

Links to the ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan service are available throughout the majority of databases within the Wolfgram library collection.

Be on the lookout while you conduct your search, if you cannot find the Full-Text in one of the databases, you should:

Step 1: Try searching the Widener University Catalog, we might have the journal in print format.

Step 2: Use the Full-Text Finder, to see if the full text for this article is available from another Widener database.

Step 3: If you are unable to find the Full-Text using step 1 or step 2, you can make an ILLiad request.

The following are examples from 4 of our major database providers:

Example A: Journal Article request from EBSCO Databases, such as EBSCOhost, Discovery@Widener, Academic Search Premier, ERIC, etc.)
Example B: Journal Article request from a ProQuest database
Example C: Book request from FirstSearch | WorldCat database
Example D: Book request from OCLC's WorldCat website

illiad request buttons for EBSCO, ProQuest and worldcat databases, as described below

Clicking on these ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan links within these databases, will bring you to a new tab, where you will be prompted to logon to the ILLiad system.

After you have successfully logged into ILLiad, you will be brought directly to the request form where the item information from the database will have automatically populated the fields of the request form. Be sure to look over this information and make any needed adjustments prior to submitting your request.

shows ILLiad logon page, and an article request as described above

Once you have:

  1. Checked the accuracy of the information transferred from the Database
  2. Entered any additional information, as needed

You are ready to submit your request.

Please allow up to 7-10 days for processing, you will receive an email notification once the requested material arrives. You can check the status of a request on the Outstanding Requests block of the ILLiad system home page.