| Subject | Call Number Section |
|---|---|
| Dance | GV1580-1799.4 |
| Music | M |
| Literature on music | ML |
| Instruction & Study | MT |
| Visual Arts | N |
| Architecture | NA |
| Sculpture | NB |
| Drawing, Design, Illustration | NC |
| Painting | ND |
| Painting Technique | ND1470-1625 |
| Print Media | NE |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Arts in general | NX |
| Photography | TR1 |
Find Art books on the 3rd floor of the Wolfgram Library
Discovery @ Widener
Print Books
The following reference (Call Numbers start with REF) works are shelved on the main floor of the Wolfgram Library. Circulating print books are located on the 3rd floor.
The Encyclopedia of American Art Before 1914 by
A one-volume work covering all the major artistic developments in the USA from the Colonial period until 1914. From pioneering artists, such as John White, who recorded the native flora, fauna, and peoples of the early Virginia and North Carolina settlements, to the pivotal 1913 Armory Show,the entries chart the evolution of artistic traditions in the emerging American nation. The book features 500 biographies of such well-known figures as John Singleton Copley, Benjamin West, Thomas Cole, and Paul Revere; it also includes some 30 new biographies of late 19th century and early 20thcentury Californian artists, who have frequently been overlooked in previous literature.
Art Since 1940: strategies of being by
"This book helps us understand the "strategies of being" of the greatest postwar artists, and by extension other artists both well-known and little celebrated. Professor Fineberg focuses on artists' lives and how they intersected with broader cultural issues. Individual artists looked at in depth include Calder, Hofmann, Gorky, Motherwell, de Kooning, Pollock, Newman, Rothko, David Smith, Dubuffet, Giacometti, Bacon, Rauschenberg, Oldenburg, Johns, Beuys, Klein, Warhol, Rosenquist, Westermann, Arneson, Hesse, Nauman, Christo, Polke, Guston, Bearden, Aycock, Kiefer, Clemente, Borofsky, Basquiat, and Wojnarowicz." "Professor Fineberg's thematic discussion treats ideas and events that are critical to understanding how social and cultural climates have affected creative people from the 1940s to the present. The accent is on individual artists and their experience. Interspersed are fascinating considerations of scores of major tendencies - from the CoBrA, art informed, British Pop Art, Bay Area figurative painters in the 1950s, and the artists and writers of the Beat Generation to the Minimalists, the impact of feminism, minority artists, conceptual art. European neo-expressionism. East Village scene-makers of the 1980s, recent artists of appropriation, and the return to the body in the art of the 1990s."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
International Dictionary of Art and Artists Vol 1 & 2 by
This forms part of a two-volume work covering works of art and artists. This volume includes entries for 500 artists (painters, sculptors, engravers, etc) from Western Europe and the Americas from the Renaissance to the present day.
eBooks
Universal Principles of Art: 100 Key Concepts for Understanding, Analyzing, and Practicing Art by
A follow-up to Rockport Publishers' best-selling Universal Principles of Design, a new volume will present one hundred principles, fundamental ideas and approaches to making art, that will guide, challenge and inspire any artist to make better, more focused art.Universal Principles of Art serves as a wealth of prompts, hints, insights and roadmaps that will open a world of possibilities and provide invaluable keys to both understanding art works and generating new ones. Respected artist John A. Parks will explore principles that involve both techniques and concepts in art-making, covering everything from the idea of beauty to glazing techniques to geometric ideas in composition to minimalist ideology. Techniques are simple, direct and easily followed by any artist at any level. This incredibly detailed reference book is the standard for artists, historians, educators, professionals and students who seek to broaden and improve their art expertise.
A Practical Guide to Arts-Related Research by
This book outlines the principles and practices of arts-related inquiry and provides both suggestions about conducting research in the field as well as case study examples. The ideas presented here have emerged from the authors' own experiences of undertaking arts-related research and the challenges of implementing these approaches. The book therefore draws on personal research, practice and experience to address the concerns academics increasingly appear to be voicing about developing the scholarship and practice of arts-related research. There is a need for greater attention to, and clarity on, issues of theoretical positioning, methodology and methods when conducting robust and reputable arts-related research, which this book provides.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Art History Terms : French/English-English/French by
This dictionary contains terms including the following fields and subfields of arts and antiques: painting, drawing, engraving, sculpture, architecture, dressmaking, armament, heraldry, ceramics, styles and art criticism, music, furniture, religious monuments and objects and textiles.
