Wolfgram Subject Guides: Engineering: Scholarly Databases & Journals

Engineering

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing:
The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.
The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ACS Publications | American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
The ACS Journal Archives provide searchable full-text access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 450,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879. ACS publishes more than 35 peer-reviewed journals with articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Download for Android Here | Download for Apple IOS Here
ASCE Publications | American Society of Civil Engineers This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
ASCE Library is an online full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Online Tutorial Available Here
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Over 12,000 ASTM standards operate globally. Defined and set by us, they improve the lives of millions every day. Combined with our innovative business services, they enhance performance and help everyone have confidence in the things they buy and use.
Online Tutorial Available Here
AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
Click here for Alexander Street Press Interface
More than 72,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more
Online Tutorial Available Here
Compendex | Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969 - present
A comprehensive engineering platform, contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
This comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledge base pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Engineering Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering comprehensive scholarly output on engineering topics.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of IEEE content published beginning 1872 from:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conferences, IET journals, IET conferences, IEEE published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Online Tutorial Available Here
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1946 - present
International index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Database of United States patents.

Search the A-Z Database List

Frequently Accessed Engineering Journals

Medical & Biological Engineering & Computing

Civil Engineering and Environmental Systems

Mechanical Engineering : The Journal of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Grey Literature in BioMedical Research

"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by libraries and institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers; i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.“

Twelfth International Conference on Grey Literature in Prague in 2010

Farace, DJ, Schöpfel, J, eds. (2010). Grey Literature in Library and Information Studies. Berlin: De Gruyter Saur. ISBN 9783598117930. http://www.textrelease.com/gl12conference.html.

Grey Literature LibGuide - Georgetown University

CINAHL with Full Text (Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1982 - present
CINAHL provides access to full text materials for nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL Database, many of which with no embargo.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1861 - present
Doctoral dissertations & masters theses. **Widener dissertations published after 1997 are FULL TEXT**
Online Tutorial Available Here

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
This application allows medical students, residents, program directors, the medical community, and the general public to view basic information about all ACGME accredited programs and sponsoring institutions.
Association for Medical Education in Europe (AMEE)
AMEE promotes international excellence in education in the healthcare professions across the continuum of undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education.
Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research.
BEME Best Evidence Medical and Health Professional Education
The Best Evidence Medical Education (BEME) Collaboration (Harden et al., 1999) is an international group of individuals, universities and professional organisations committed to the development of evidence informed education in the medical and health professions.
The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) Reports
The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) of the National Academies (formerly Institute of Medicine, IOM) publish reports that provide objective and straightforward advice to decision makers and the public. This site includes reports published after 1998.
MedEdPORTAL
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OpenGrey: System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe
Open access to 700,000 European grey literature documents on many subject, including biological and medical sciences.

Data, Tools and Statistics by Health Services Research Information Central
Portal of resources that includes Data Charts/Series, Databases/Repositories, statistics, and more. From the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).
Dryad
Dryad is an international repository of data underlying scientific and medical publications, particularly data for which no specialized repository exists. All material in Dryad is associated with a scholarly publication. Most data in the repository are associated with peer-reviewed articles, although data associated with non-peer reviewed publications from reputable academic sources, such as dissertations, are also accepted.
Harvard Dataverse
Large collection of Social Sciences research data, hosted by Harvard University. Also includes over 1,500 datasets in Medicine, Health, and Life Sciences.
HealthData.gov
"This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
Re3Data
"re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines." Search by keywords or browse by discipline.
TRIP Database
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
A wealth of internal reports and grants information!
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence.
FDA: US Food and Drug Administration
Provides full-text white papers, presentations, publications and other documents.
NIH RePORTER
Searchable database (formerly known as CRISP) of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions.
HSRProj (NLM)
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress).
Database of information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.
HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)
Database that contains descriptions of research datasets, instruments/indices, and software applications used in health services research and in the behavioral and social sciences. Can be used for assessment purposes.
CDC - Center for Disease Control and Prevention
An overload of grey literature and statistics.
CDC WONDER
CDC statistics, reports, and guidelines.
ClinicalTrials
An NIH database of up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials. The database is searchable by condition, drug, sponsor, trial location, and trial phase.

Engineering

Librarian

Interlibrary Loan

Engineering

Search the A-Z Database List

Frequently Accessed Engineering Journals

Grey Literature in BioMedical Research