Find Print & Electronic Books
To locate print books, go to the Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage, and click on WebPAC, the Widener University Catalog.
To locate Electronic Books, click on go to the Wolfgram Memorial Library Homepage, and click on EBooks. Click here for a step-by-step guide to using Ebooks.
To request books (and also journal articles) from another library, use ILLiad.
Find Electronic Reference Books
Electronic reference books can be found by going to the Wofgram Memorial Library Homepage, and searching in our EBooks collection. Below are several examples of Reference EBooks related to Engineering topics.
Which Guide to Use
Below is a general guide to Engineering Resources in many areas of Engineering. Unless otherwise indicated, the databases are available only to Widener University students and faculty.
SENIOR PROJECT STUDENTS: Select the tab Engineering Senior Projects to get an overview of the research process for your class. Then select the tab that is most relevant to your topic to find resources specific to that field of engineering.
FOR QUESTIONS: Contact Jan Alexander by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, by phone at 610-499-4591. To reach the Reference Desk, click on the ASK US button to the left.
SEARCH TIPS FOR USING THE DATABASES: In a box on the left of this page, you will find instructions for how to use many of the databases listed below.
Note: Unless otherwise indicated, these databases are only available to Widener University students, faculty and staff. To access them from off campus: When prompted to login, enter your FIRST NAME LAST NAME in the top box, and the barcode from the BACK of your Widener ID Card in the bottom box.
|1969 - present||COMPENDEX: A comprehensive index to the Engineering Literature. Indexes over 6,500 journals and conference proceedings, including many international sources.
|Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (CASC)||1975 - present||
CASC: Indexes approximately 2200 academic journals and professional publications. Full text is available for over 1000 journals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, and the business and social implications of new technology.
||1970 - present||PROQUEST CENTRAL: A large interdisciplinary database with a variety of Engineering resources.|
||Coverage Varies||ASCE: American Society of Civil Engineers Publications. Includes many full text articles. Once at the site, go to "Online Journals" and click on "Advanced Search". Use quotation marks to hold terms together as a phrase.|
|ICE Publications||Coverage Varies||
ICE: Institution of Civil Engineering. The search box at the top of the page searches both ICE journal articles and proceedings. Note that Widener only has full text access to the ICE Proceedings, not its other journals. Use Advanced Search for more focused results.
|IEEE Explore||Coverage Varies||
IEEE: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Includes many full text articles. NOTE: We do not have access to the full text of any of the IEEE conference proceedings or standards, or to any journal articles before 1998.
Once at the site, click on Advanced Search. Use quotation marks to hold words together as a phrase. To search within the full text of articles we subscribe to, select "Full Text & Metadata" and put a check mark in the box labeled "Only show full text results included in my subscription."
||Coverage varies||ASC: American Chemical Society Publications. Includes many full text articles. Once at the site, click on Advanced Search.|
|Medline||1946 - present||MEDLINE: U.S. National Library of Medicine's database that contains over 18 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, including Biomedical Engineering. Use quotation marks to hold words together as a phrase.|
|ACM Digital Library||Coverage Varies||ACM: Association for Computing Machinery Publications. Includes many full text articles. Once at the site, select Advanced Search. To AND terms together, use top search box. Use quotation marks to hold words together as a phrase.|
|eBook Collection||Coverage Varies||eBook ACADEMIC COLLECTION: Academic collection of interdiscplinary electronic books. Includes many engineering books.|
|U.S. Patent and Trademark Office||Coverage Varies||U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: Database of United States patents. Database available to general public at no charge.|
The following sources can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
CRC Handbook of Tables for Applied Engineering Science
The Engineering Handbook.
Encompasses 30 different areas of Engineering
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 20 volume set.
Covers all the material sciences and the major applications in engineering, agriculture and related disciplines.
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering
A one-volume encyclopedia for the field.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics
McGraw Hill Modern Scientists and Engineers