Skip to main content

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

About This Database

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is comprehensive collection from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. PQDT has been designated as an offsite digital repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, and contains historic and ongoing coverage from North American universities, including Widener University.

We have access to the following areas of study:

  • Business
  • Health & Medicine
  • History
  • Literature & Language
  • Science & Technology
  • Social Sciences
  • The Arts

Navigate to the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Database

LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListProQuest Dissertations & Theses

**Widener dissertations published after 1997 are available in FULL TEXT**

Keyword Searching

Navigate to the Dissertations & Theses Database, then click Advanced Search

  1. Enter your Topic / Keyword(s) into the search box. You can put in phrases, keywords, authors or titles without any special formatting.
  2. Conduct your Search

advanced search screen, highlighting seach process as described above

NOTE: If you want to just look at Widener University dissertations, look for University/institution section and type in Widener... you have the option to search all widener university dissertations or narrow your results to the School of Nursing or Graduate Clinical Psychology.

The Results List

In your list of results you will see individual citations for each dissertation.

  • Click Preview dropdown to view abstract/summary
  • All dissertations published since 1997 come with a 24 page preview
  • Full Text of Widener University dissertations published after 1997 are available for download
  • Any dissertations NOT available in Full Text from this database, can be requested via ILLiad | Interlibrary Loan system.

Detail Record

When Full Text is available, you can download the PDF from the detailed record.

  • From results list, click the dissertation title to access detailed record
  • Use tabs above the full text to navigate sections of the dissertation
  • You can find other research that uses the same references, look for documents with shared references link

detail record available for Full text dissertations, highlighting where to download full text or find dissertations that use same refferences.