Skip to main content

LibGuides

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

About ProQuest Central

While ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, it also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as:

  • Over 100,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more
  • Over 455,000 working papers from organizations such as NBER and OECD
  • Millions of up-to-date company reports, market and industry reports, and country profiles
  • The most comprehensive collection of market, industry, and economic reports available on the market today

Subjects Covered:

  • Business
  • Science & Technology
  • Health and Medical
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts and Humanities
  • News
  • Interdisciplinary

Navigate to the Academic ProQuest Central Database
LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListProQuest Central

NOTE: When attempting to access many of our electronic resources from Off Campus, you will be prompted to login using your Widener ID card or Library Research Card.

The Search

By default ProQuest Central is set up to search for ALL terms entered. Separate terms with OR to find any of the terms you enter.  If you want to search for an exact phrase, use "quotation marks" around your search terms.

  1. Look for the Widener University Libraries icon on the top of the search page, this indicates you are connected to the database through the library. This grants you access to all materials available through our collection.
  2. Enter your search terms / keywords. (To search for a phrase, put the words into quotation marks).
  3. You can Limit your search results:
    • Full Text: Check this box to limit results to include only materials available in Full Text. Helpful when doing last-minute research and you don't have time to wait for interlibrary loan requests. This limiter may drastically reduce the number search results.
    • Peer-Reviewed: Check this box to limit results to include only articles from publications in which go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers.
    • Scholarly Journals: Check this box to ensure your search results only include items from scholarly journals. This eliminates the popular magazines and newspapers.
    • Publication Date: Only want resources published after 2015? This is where you make that happen!
    • Source Type: Academic Journal, Periodical, Reference Book, Working Papers, etc...
    • Document type: looking for materials in a specific format? Choose from Abstract, Article, Book, Chapter, & more.
    • Language: Choose articles published in your choice of language.
  4. Conduct your Search

In the example below, we are searching using the phrase "Kinship Care" and the keywords African American and we have limited the search to include only Peer-Reviewed articles.

example search, as described above

Results List

search results page, as described above

Article Detail

Article detail page, as described above

No Full Text available in ProQuest?

  1. Use Full Text Finder to locate full text of the article within one of the other library databases.
  2. If you are not able to find the full text, use the ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan system, to request the item from another library.

ProQuest Thesaurus

proquest thesaurus page, as described above