Skip to main content

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

JSTOR

About this Database

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
  • JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 2,450 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • Known as an archival database, it provides users with Full Text coverage of articles published prior to 2008 (although coverage varies for each journal).
  • The entire back runs of journals (from Volume 1, Issue 1) are always included!

Platform Features

  • Try the new Text Analyzer – upload your own text to search for related content.
  • Personalization and organization: A growing set of personalization features enable students and researchers to customize their experiences and save their work from session to session.
  • Building research skills: The new, onsite JSTOR outline builder supports information literacy skills by providing students with an easy way to begin a paper or project and link formatted, authoritative sources directly to their writing.
  • Text mining support: JSTOR supports text analysis and digital humanities research by providing full-text datasets for the journals and primary sources in the digital library.

For additional help, browse through JSTOR's "How to Use JSTOR" guide. Also, check out there other subject-specific guides for more research help. 

Navigate to the JSTOR Database

Library Home Page A to Z Database ListJSTOR

NOTE: When attempting to access many of our electronic resources from Off Campus, you will be prompted to login using your Widener ID card or Library Research Card.

Searching

Basic Search Option

Be sure to access JSTOR through the Wolfgram A-Z Database, the ensures you have access the Full Text materials that we subscribe to.

  1. Enter your Search Terms / Keyword(s) into the search box located on the JSTOR home page.

You can put in phrases, keywords, authors or titles without any special formatting. This will give you a broader list of results that will, at least, allow you to peruse some options. If you're a more advanced searcher, you can put Boolean commands directly into the search bar or use the Advanced Search option. For additional help, check out JSTOR's "How to Search JSTOR" guide. 

Image of jstor basic search box


Advanced Search

  1. From the JSTOR home page search box, click Advanced Search
  2. Enter your Search Terms / Keyword(s). NOTE: The default is to AND words together. To search for a phrase, put the words inside quotation marks.
  3. You can use limiters like Item Type, Date Range, Language and/or Publication Title, to refine your search results.
  4. Conduct your Search.
For the example below we used the keywords “social welfare” and poverty, additionally we limited the results to only show scholarly journal articles.

Image of a search highlighting entering keywords into the advanced search, narrowing search with limiters, and searching within journals


Search with JSTOR's Text Analyzer Tool

How it works

  • Upload a document with text in it. This can be anything: a paper you're writing, an outline of a work in progress, an article you just downloaded, a course syllabi, or even a picture of a page of your textbook

NOTE: You can upload or point to many kinds of text documents, including: csv, doc, docx, gif, htm, html, jpg, jpeg, json, pdf, png, pptx, rtf, tif (tiff), txt, xlsx. If the file type you're using isn't in this list, just cut and paste any amount of text into the search form to analyze it.

image of text analyzer interface
 

  • The tool analyzes the text within the document to find key topics and terms used, and then uses the ones it deems most important — the "prioritized terms" — to find similar content in JSTOR.
  • Review the results and download any articles you're interested in.
  • Adjust the results you're seeing by adding, removing or adjusting the importance of the prioritized terms.

 

text analyzer analysis pages highlighting how to adjust terms, and date range

See Text Analyzer in action!

The Results List

  1. The search for scholarly articles conducted using the keywords “social welfare” and poverty, produced over 17,900 results.
  2. From the results page, you have the option to further refine your search by using the Filter Results block of the results list.
  3. Download article PDFs directly from your results list, by clicking Download PDF.
  4. Clicking the Article's Title brings you to the detail page for that item.
  5. Click on the Authors name to view other articles written by that author.

Image of search results page displaying filter options, how to download the pdf,

Article Details

Clicking on the title for the second item listed, "Social Welfare, Inequality, and poverty when needs differ" brings you into the article detail page (see example below).
 
From the articles detail page:
A. Use the Stable URL in the reference list for your paper, in an email to other students in your group, knowing it will work later.
B. Complete citation information can be accessed directly from the detailed record, by clicking Cite This Item.
C. You can read online from the Article tab
D. Use References tab to view articles referenced within the article.
E. From the article tab, you can access the articles abstract, which is a summary of the entire article.
F. Use the arrows located in the article tab to move to the next page of the article.
 
Image of article detail page, highlighting the stable URL, citing the article, references, the abstract, and how to move to the next page.