Skip to main content

LibGuides

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

About the IEEE Database

The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. More than two-million documents are in robust, dynamic HTML format.

The content in IEEE Xplore comprises:

  • 195+ journals
  • Approximately 2,000 eBooks
  • 400+ educational courses
  • 1,400+ conference proceedings*
  • 5,100+ technical standards*

Approximately 20,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

*Though we do not have access to the Full Text conference proceedings, or technical standards, you can request any that might interest you, using ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan.

Navigate to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library Database

LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListIEEE Xplore Digital Library

NOTE: When attempting to access many of our electronic resources from Off Campus, you will be prompted to login using your Widener ID card or Library Research Card.

Search

Be sure to access IEEE Xplore Digital Library through the Wolfgram A-Z Database, the ensures you have access the Full Text materials that we subscribe to.

  1. From the IEEE Xplore Digital Library home page search box, click Advanced Search
  2. Decide if you want to search Metadata Only (Title, Authors, Subject Headings, Keywords, and Abstract) or Full Text and Metadata (This option would search the metadata, along with the Full Text of the articles, for your Search Terms/ Keywords).
  3. Enter Search Terms/Keywords. (The default is to AND words together. To search for a phrase, put words in quotation marks).
  4. You can use the Operators (Content Type, Publisher, Publication Year) to refine your search
  5. Submit your Search

NOTE: We DO NOT have access to the Full Text of any of the IEEE conference proceedings or standards, or to any journal articles before 1998.

In the example below, we used the Search Terms "piezoelectric sensors" and "vibration control". Notice we wrapped each in quotation marks to avoid the system searching for them as individual words.

IEEE advanced search page, as described above

The Results List

The Search Results Page Breakdown:

A. The search for  "piezoelectric sensors" and "vibration control" provided 47 results.

B. You have the option to limit your search results to only show Full Text articles by selecting 'My Subscribed Content'

C. The blue locked padlock icon indicates that the article is NOT available in Full Text within this database. NOTE: Make an ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan request for ANY article not available in Full Text.

D. A green open padlock icon indicates the Full Text is available for viewing/download.

E. Click direct links to view Abstract, HTML (view Full Text online), or PDF (download PDF for off line use).

 

IEEE search results page, as described above

Article Details (HTML Format)

Many IEEE articles can be viewed on screen in HTML as well as in the original PDF format, which allows you to:

  • Scan and interpret articles in under 60 seconds using Quick Preview.
  • Easily download hi-res versions of figures, graphics, and images.
  • Quickly view and copy mathematical equations, expressions, and formulas.
  • Navigate between sections of long articles with intuitive floating navigation.

example html view of an article, as described above