Skip to main content

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

Humanities International Complete

About This Database

Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Database Features:

  • Access to over 2.9 million records from over 2300 publications
  • Choice of over 25 different languages.
  • Author Profiles of many relevant scholars to assist searching.

Navigate to the Humanities International Complete Database

LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListHumanities International Complete

NOTE: When attempting to access many of our electronic resources from Off Campus, you will be prompted to login using your Widener ID card or Library Research Card.

Basic Search

  1. Enter your search terms / keywords. (To search for a phrase, put the words into quotation marks).
  2. The Search Modes and Expanders section provides options that broaden your search results. Use these sparingly, as you broaden your search the number of results might become overwhelming, or they might be too vague. Best utilized in the beginning stages of research, for example, when trying to decide on a research topic and you want to know what resources/items/materials are available. 
  3. Limit your search results:
    • Document type: looking for materials in a specific format? Choose from Abstract, Article, Book, Chapter, & more.
    • Full Text: Check this box to limit results to include only materials available in Full Text. Helpful when doing last-minute research and you don't have time to wait for interlibrary loan requests. This limiter may drastically reduce the number search results.
    • Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals: Check this box to ensure your search results only include items from scholarly journals. This eliminates the popular magazines and newspapers.
    • Publication Date: Only want resources published after 2015? This is where you make that happen!
    • Publication Type: Academic Journal, Periodical, Reference Book, etc...
  4. Click "Search"

In the following example we used the keywords Progressive rock, and limited our search results to only include items from Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

example of search page, as described above

The Results List

From the results page you are able to:

  • Use the Refine Results section to drill down further into the search results
  • Download Full Text PDF or view Full Text online (when available)
  • Look for the article in one of our other databases by using the Full Text Finder link
  • Request items not available in our collections, using the InterLibrary Loan (Illiad Wolfgram) link
  • Search Widener University Catalog (WebPAC) link, which will tell you if the library has the item in the print serials collection
  • Use folders to organize articles of interest

Article Detail

The Detailed Record

PDF documents are images of the original print version and will look exactly the same as the print version.

  • Original page numbers
  • Graphs, tables, and charts
  • Full list of references (Peer Reviewed journals)

Accessing the electronic versions of articles through our online databases, offers you additional features and functionality that is not available in print, such as:

  • Links to additional author(s) work
  • Direct links to additional journal issues/volumes
  • Content links to navigate to specific sections/topics within the article
  • Hyperlinked search terms to broaden or narrow your search

article detail page, highlighting features described above.

Ebsco Citation Tool

From the details page of any EBSCO provided resource (books, articles, etc.), within the "Tools" navigation:

  • Click "Cite"
  • Choose your citation formatting style (APA 6th, MLA 7th, Chicago, etc.)
  • Copy the citation and 'Paste' into your reference list.

an example of EBSCO's citation creation tool, as described above.

 

Remember to examine any citations produced with these citation tools for accuracy, double check names, dates, capitalization, punctuation and make any needed adjustments prior to submitting your work to your instructor.