Skip to main content

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

About Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete is a comprehensive database of indexed and full-text content offers a vast knowledgebase pertaining to traditional computing and applied sciences challenges and resources. It is an outstanding source for content concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Content Includes:

  • More than 620 active full-text journals and magazines
  • More than 480 active full-text peer-reviewed journals
  • More than 260 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo
  • More than 430 active full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus

Subjects Include:

  • Computer theory
  • Computer systems
  • Engineering disciplines
  • New technology
  • Social and professional context

Navigate to the Academic Search Premier Database

LibGuides Home Page A to Z Database ListComputers & Applied Sciences Complete

Search

  1. Enter your search terms / keywords. (To search for a phrase, put the words into quotation marks).
  2. The Search Modes and Expanders section provides options that broaden your search results. Use these sparingly, as you broaden your search the number of results might become overwhelming, or they might be too vague. Best utilized in the beginning stages of research, for example, when trying to decide on a research topic and you want to know what resources/items/materials are available. 
  3. Limit your search results:
    • Document type: looking for materials in a specific format? Choose from Abstract, Article, Book, Chapter, & more.
    • Full Text: Check this box to limit results to include only materials available in Full Text. Helpful when doing last-minute research and you don't have time to wait for interlibrary loan requests. This limiter may drastically reduce the number search results.
    • Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals: Check this box to ensure your search results only include items from scholarly journals. This eliminates the popular magazines and newspapers.
    • Publication Date: Only want resources published after 2015? This is where you make that happen!
    • Publication Type: Academic Journal, Periodical, Reference Book, etc...
  4. Click "Search"

In the following example we used the keywords artificial intelligence AND disabilities

Results List

View the search results and note the variety of journals represented and the topics related to artificial intelligence AND disabilities that are covered in this search.

From the results page you are able to:

  • Use the Refine Results section to drill down further into the search results
  • Download Full Text PDF or view Full Text online (when available)
  • Request items not available in our collections, using InterLibrary Loan (Illiad Wolfgram)
  • Search WebPAC (Wolfgram's Library Catalog) which will tell you if the library has the item in the print serials collection
  • Use folders to organize articles of interest

Expand Your Search

Our initial search for the keywords artificial intelligence AND disabilities retrieved a total of 97 items... not bad, but by making a couple adjustments there is potential to find more.

Try adding additional search fields with variations of the keyword disabilities to broaden your search results. By making use of the boolean operator "OR"  and adding keywords like disability and disabled to the search form, then submitting your search again.

 

This second search with additional search terms has drastically increased the number of results. You will now see there are 8,112 items in comparison to the initial search which retrieved 97 items.

Browse and Organize

While browsing through the articles listed in your results page, you can click the article icon that follows the title and view more details about the article, including the abstract without losing your place.

From here you can also make use of the folders function, which will allow you to store and organize the articles you want to use.

Article Details

The Detailed Record

PDF documents are images of the original print version and will look exactly the same as the print version.

  • Original page numbers
  • Graphs, tables, and charts
  • Full list of references (Peer Reviewed journals)

Accessing the electronic versions of articles through our online databases, offers you additional features and functionality that is not available in print, such as:

  • Links to additional author(s) work
  • Direct links to additional journal issues/volumes
  • Content links to navigate to specific sections/topics within the article
  • Hyperlinked search terms to broaden or narrow your search

EBSCO Citation Tool

From the details page of any EBSCO provided resource (books, articles, etc.), within the "Tools" navigation:

  • Click "Cite"
  • Choose your citation formatting style (APA 6th, MLA 7th, Chicago, etc.)
  • Copy the citation and 'Paste' into your reference list.

an example of EBSCO's citation creation tool, as described above.

 

Remember to examine any citations produced with these citation tools for accuracy, double check names, dates, capitalization, punctuation and make any needed adjustments prior to submitting your work to your instructor.