Skip to main content

LibGuides

Database Tutorials

This LibGuide contains step by step instructions for majority of research databases available in the Wolfgram collection.

ACS Publications

About this Database

The ACS Journal Archives provide searchable full-text access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 450,000 articles dating back to the inaugural volume of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879. ACS publishes more than 35 peer-reviewed journals with articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.

Including the following subjects:

Agriculture, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Applied Microbiology, Chemical Engineering, Chemical Information, General Chemistry, Clinical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Crystallography, Energy & Fuels, Environmental Science, Food Science & Technology, Inorganic Chemistry, Materials Science, Medicinal Chemistry, Nanoscience, Organic Chemistry, Pharmacology & Pharmacy, Physical Chemistry, Polymer Science, Theoretical Chemistry, Toxicology

Should I Create an ACS ID?

With your ACS ID you can:

  • Use ACS ChemWorx, a total research management and storage system
  • Register for e-Alerts
  • Create search-based custom RSS feeds
  • Received personalized article recommendations

(Creating an ACS ID is free and ACS membership is NOT required)

Basic Search

  1. Enter your search terms / keywords
  2. Search by citation
  3. Browse articles by CAS section
  4. Use the Advanced Search a more detailed search

*NOTE: Be sure to access the ACS Publications Database from the Wolfgram Library Database list to ensure you have access to the materials available with our subscription. You should see "subscriber access provided by WIDENER UNIV" directly below the search box.

 

The Results List

From the results page, you can use the limiters to narrow your search even further by choosing:

  • Content type (Journal Article, C&EN Article, Book Chapter, etc.)
  • Author(s)
  • Publication (Specific Journal or Book)
  • Manuscript type (Research Article, News, Review Article, etc.)
  • Subjects
  • Publication Date

Article Features

Every ACS Publications article is available in multiple delivery formats such as:

  • Full Text HTML (webpage)
  • ACS ActiveView PDF
  • PDF with Links, or a simple downloadable PDF (see below for details).

Full Text HTML view features include:

  • Browse within the specific journal title volume/issue
  • Jump to... sections of the article
  • Article metrics, see how popular a particular article has been with other researchers
  • In line references with links to full text articles

ACS ActiveView PDF

 
This view offers improved table and figure navigation, annotation tools and sharing capabilities (NOTE: ACS ID required to make use of the features offered in the ACS ActiveView PDF.)

PDF with Links and PDF's

 

Exporting a Citation from ACS Publications to RefWorks

From the Articles Full-Text HTML page look for the Article Options section

  1. Click on Download Citations
  2. Select RIS formatting and choose what (if any) additional data you want included with your citation
  3. Click Download Citation(s) and save the file to your computer/device

Logon to the RefWorks: http://www.refworks.com/

  1. Locate the References tab and select Import
  2. Browse to locate the file you downloaded from the ACS Publication database
  3. Click Import

Remember to examine any citations produced with these citation tools for accuracy, double check names, dates, capitalization, punctuation and make any needed adjustments prior to submitting your work to your instructor.