Office Hours: by appointment
I'm the Liaison to the School of Nursing and Head of Reference and Instructional Services at Wolfgram Library. I can generally be reached in my office Monday-Friday (hours vary by day).
Find Internet Resources
NP Web: A Primary Care Homepage for Nurse Practitioners
Presented by the Department of Nursing at the University of New Hampshire
American Cancer Society
The University of Pennsylvania Cancer Resource Center, includes descriptions of various cancers, diagnostic tests, and treatments. Recipient of numerous Web awards.
National Institute of Nursing Research at Community of Science
A searchable database for NINR grants.
The Foundation Center
Information clearinghouse to help grantseekers, grantmakers, and others better understand the foundation field.
Contains full text legislation, Congressional Record, and links to various legislative documents and sites.
American Association of the History of Nursing
American Nurses Association
What database would you use to find full text articles from the New York Times?
What You'll Find in This Guide
This guide will help you find information that is licensed by the Libraries and also information that is available on the free Web. Click on the tabs above to explore the pages in this guide and to find more information about these topics:
Research Databases: Access specific databases for finding articles on Nursing topics.
Books: Identify books with information on Nursing topics.
eBooks: Find ebooks on Nursing topics accessible through the Wolfgram Library.
Nursing Reference: Tools for finding Nursing information in a variety of formats.
Health Websites: Find information in web-based health sciences information resources.
APA: Use APA style in your papers.
- Community Health Assessment
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Health Care System
- Multicultural Health
- Research Instruments & Datasets
Find Additional Print Nursing Reference Sources
The following sources can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library in the Reference Area. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
Nursing Studies Index 1900-1959. 4 Vols.
Bibliography arranged by subject for the years 1900-1959.
Almanacs, Dictionaries, Directories
American Hospital Association Guide to the Health Care Field
DESK REF R121 .D73
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Comprehensive but concise definitions and short discussions of medical, anatomical, and related terminology.
The Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
Nursing practice categorized and arranged into sections on Medical-Surgical, Psychiatric, Maternity, and Pediatric Nursing
(see also the subject guide on "Tests and Evaluations")
Instruments for Use in Nursing Education Research
A compilation of test instruments that have used nursing research to assess attitudes, skills, competency, etc relative to the nursing field.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Extensive coverage of published standardized tests including factual information as well as critical reviews.
Reviews of frequently used psychological, education, and business tests including description, use, technical aspects, critiques, and references.
Pharmacology & Drugs
DESK REF RS75.P5
Physicians' Desk Reference
Extensive description of prescription drugs with manufacturers index, brand and generic name index, product category index, and product identification guide with color plates showing pills.
REF RT1.N34 no. 15-1310
Baccalaureate and master's degree programs in Nursing Accredited by the NLN
Tabulation of schools granting undergraduate and graduate degrees, arranged alphabetically by state and institution.
Peterson's Guide to Nursing Programs
Brief to in-depth descriptions of nursing programs throughout the United States and Canada
REF RT34 .D53
Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
RT34 .A44 (2 vols.)
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary
Evaluate Web Pages
This video is a guide to searching the CINAHL database