Skip to main content

LibGuides

Volunteerism _ USC 101 | Mikus

This guide contains helpful course related information and resources.

Discovery @ Widener

Advanced Search  |  Databases A to Z  |  Full Text Finder  |  Library Catalog

Topic: Volunteerism & Civic Responsibility

Helpful Keywords

civic responsibility / civic engagement  Volunteer*  volunteerism  civic duty   social responsibility  community activism  community service

Search Tips

  1. Try putting your search terms in " ", ie  "civic responsibility". This will force the database to search the phrase rather than individual words.
  2. Add an * after the root of a word, ie volunteer*, this will force the database to search multiple variations of the word (volunteering, volunteers, etc).

Library Databases

Browse the complete A to Z Database List here:  Go to A-Z List

Online Resources

Check organizations/agencies sites: international, national, and local; church, school, community, government.

Finding Books | Print & Electronic

If you can get to campus, consider searching our WebPAC | Library Catalog for books on your subject.


WebPAC | Library Catalog Search

 


Examples:
noir AND detective?, popular culture, wind willows Advanced Catalog Search


Not able to make it to campus?

You can use the ILLiad | InterLibrary Loan system to request pages/chapter(s) of books from our collection or even items that are not available in our collection. NOTE: Due to copyright restrictions, we are only able to scan/send 15-20% of any one title.

Login to Illiad > under New Request, choose Book Chapter > enter the book information, include page #'s or chapter info then submit request. We will scan sections of the requested text, or copy the table of contents for you to make a reasonable selection.

Not sure what sections of the book you need?

Most books in the catalog have a table of contents in the item record. If not, do a title search in Google books, you might find a preview of the book which can be used to read a portion online, but also gather details about specific page numbers & chapters for your request.

In Our Collection

The Wolfgram Memorial Library subscribes to three (3) eBook collections:""

  • EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
  • ProQuest eBook Central
Each of these collections are interdisciplinary and contain thousands of eBooks.

To Get Started

If you’re using a laptop or desktop, you need Adobe Digital Editions a free program that is different than Adobe Reader.

A free Adobe ID is also required to transfer the eBook to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer. 

Check out the online eBook Database Tutorials for further details.

Open Access Resources

Loading ...