Skip to main content

LibGuides

Intro Psychology _ PSY 105 | Grassetti

This guide contains helpful course related information and resources.

Empirical Articles

What is an Empirical Article?

"An empirical article is a research article that reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation."

How to Recognize an Empirical Research Article:

To identify an article based on empirical research, look for the following characteristics:

  • The article is published in a Scholarly / Peer-Reviewed journal.
  • The article abstract mentions a study, observation, analysis, # of participants/subjects.
  • The article includes charts, graphs, or statistical analysis.
  • The article is substantial in size, likely to be more than 5 pages long.
  • The article contains the following sections (the exact terms may vary): abstract, introduction, method, results, discussion, references.

Sections of a Standard Empirical Research Article:

Abstract: A brief overview of the research conducted.

Introduction: Puts the research in context, discusses related research and the hypotheses for the research.

Methodology: Describes how the research was conducted.

Results: Describes the outcome of the research.

Discussion: Contains the interpretations and implications of the study.

References / Bibliography: Citation list for all material referenced during the research process.


Finding an Empirical Study/Article:

From the PsycARTICLES Database advanced search page:

  1. Enter your keywords/search term(s)
  2. Select Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
  3. Under the Methodology section, chose Empirical Study
  4. Conduct your search

From the PsycINFO Database advanced search page:

  1. Enter your keyword/search term(s)
  2. Select Peer Reviewed
  3. Under the Methodology section, chose Empirical Study
  4. Conduct your search

Databases that contain Empirical Research

Browse our A to Z Database list for additional databases containing empirical research.
 Go to A-Z List