Did you know, you can connect to the Wolfgram Library from Google Scholar?
This gives you access any Full Text articles available in our collection, right from your Google Scholar search results!
Can't Find What You Need?
If the book or full text of an article you're looking for is not owned by the Wolfgram Library then you need the services of Interlibrary Loan. This service obtains materials from other libraries worldwide on your behalf.
Use ILLiad for Books & Articles
Use E-ZBorrow for Books only
Have Questions?
InterLibrary Loan Tutorial Guide Available Here
An international specialist magazine for casino industry professionals - bringing news, views and product info relevant to the casino sector.
Explores the business aspect of casinos, including emerging trends & casino marketing practices.
The following print books can be found on the main level of the Wolfgram Memorial Library. Ask a reference librarian if you need help locating an item.
Casino Accounting and Financial Management by
This text addresses growth and changes in the casino industry. It provides information on the growing role of state governments across the country in the regulation of gaming.
Casino Management: a strategic approach by
Unlike other casino books, this book examines the casino industry using a business paradigm. It emphasizes both external environmental influences and internal points of control, leaving readers with a more strategic look at how casinos operate and factors that influence their success. The book starts with a discussion of the microenvironment of casinos and ends with marketing topics such as product, price, place and promotions. Nine vignettes appear throughout and capture current issues such as crisis planning and security. Throughout the book, special emphasis is placed on strategic market planning and the connection between entertainment and industry.
Governing Fortune: casino gambling in America by
Examining the profusion of ways in which the arts, culture, and thought of Greece and Rome have been transmitted, interpreted, adapted and used, A Companion to Classical Receptions explores the impact of this phenomenon on both ancient and later societies. Provides a comprehensive introduction and overview of classical reception - the interpretation of classical art, culture, and thought in later centuries, and the fastest growing area in classics Brings together 34 essays by an international group of contributors focused on ancient and modern reception concepts and practices Combines close readings of key receptions with wider contextualization and discussion Explores the impact of Greek and Roman culture worldwide, including crucial new areas in Arabic literature, South African drama, the history of photography, and contemporary ethics
The History of Gambling in America: balancing costs and benefits of legalized gaming by
The casino industry has been on a wild ride for three quarters of a century. What started as an attempt at economic development in the desert and turned into a haven for organized crime, is today one of the fastest growing industries around the world. This book traces the history of American gaming from the first European settlers to the Nevada experiment. Along the way readers will learn about the impact of gaming on society and the early attempts to minimize that impact. History of Gambling in America, The, 1/e then takes readers through the evolution of the gaming industry in Nevada as it deals with organized crime. In the process, a template for strict enforcement of laws to ensure the integrity of the casinos emerges that benefits the industry, the state, and the customers. A book on gaming cannot be complete without addressing the reasons for legalization and the reasons against it. Social issues such as crime, bankruptcy, and disordered gambling are also thoroughly covered.
Introduction to Casino and Gaming Operations by
Engaging, readable, and authoritative, this book is the most comprehensive source available on the research and techniques involved in casino and gaming operations. It explores the function of casinos and their relationships to hotels, restaurants, resorts, and entertainment facilities. Traces the history of the gaming industry and looks ahead to future areas of expansion. Moves from principles to practices, from overviews to detailed descriptions, all in a chronological context. Provides a new chapter on Internet gaming operations. Updates all references; expands and clarifies all charts and graphs. The ideal reference for travel/gaming industry supervisors and managers, and for anyone interested in casino operations.
The Rise of the Biggest Little City: An Encyclopedic History Of Reno Gaming, 1931-1981 by
Gaming executive Dwayne Kling records the fruits of his research into the history of Reno's casinos, from the backroom dives of the industry's beginnings to the elegant casino hotels of today. The information is arranged in encyclopaedic form and illustrated with historic photographs.
Careers in the Gaming Industry: Casino Resort Employment: Dealers to Managers: State Regulators by 
Economic Aspects of Gambling Regulation: EU and US Perspectives by
The dynamic discussions which took place at the Colloquium on the Economic Aspects of Gambling Regulation: EU and US Perspectives, hosted by Tilburg University, are reflected in this book. It brings together a wide range of perspectives from the contemporary debate surrounding the regulation of gambling from within the context both of the EU and the USA. Not only does the book encompass both ends of the spectrum of the current discussion; it also brings together the perspectives of academics, lawyers and operators. Debates surrounding the regulation of gambling have been increasing in terms of frequency and ferocity, at the national, European and international levels. Within the Member States of the European Union there has been considerable debate as to the appropriate method of regulating gambling, in particular with a view to securing revenue streams for good causes. Concurrently, infringement proceedings of the European Commission and the case-law of the European Court of Justice have the potential to disrupt chosen regulatory approaches and thus long established revenue flows. This is but one of the economic aspects to the regulation of gambling which to date has not been explored within Europe to the extent seen in the United States. Lessons which European jurisdictions can learn from American experiences in this field, and discussions on the state-of-the-art of gambling economics in Europe today, form the basis of this dynamic book.
Gambling, Space, and Time: Shifting Boundaries and Cultures by
The eight essays in Gambling, Space, and Time use a global and interdisciplinary approach to examine two significant areas of gambling studies that have not been widely explored--the ever-changing boundaries that divide and organize gambling spaces, and the cultures, perceptions, and emotions related to gambling. The contributors represent a variety of disciplines: history, geography, sociology, anthropology, political science, and law. The essays consider such topics as the impact of technological advances on gambling activities, the role of the nation-state in the gambling industry, and the ways that cultural and moral values influence the availability of gambling and the behavior of gamblers. The case studies offer rich new insights into a gambling industry that is both a global phenomenon and a powerful engine of local change.
Indian Gaming : Federal, State and Tribal Regulation and Oversight by
Over the past 25 years, Indian gaming has become a significant source of revenue for many tribes, reaching $28 billion in fiscal year 2013. The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA), the primary federal statute governing Indian gaming, provides a statutory basis for the regulation of Indian gaming. Tribes, states, Interior, and the Commission have varying roles in Indian gaming. This book examines Interior's review process to help ensure that tribal-state compacts comply with IGRA; how states and selected tribes regulate Indian gaming; the Commission's authority to regulate Indian gaming; and the Commission's efforts to ensure tribes' compliance with IGRA and Commission regulations.
Gambling for Profit: Lotteries, Gaming Machines, and Casinos in Cross-national Focus by
Over the past forty years, Western governments have increasingly liberalized and deregulated gambling, which is now used to deliver state revenues and commercial profit in many jurisdictions. Gambling for Profit is a cross-national history of the emergence of legal gambling, including lotteries, gaming machines, and casinos. Gambling for Profit is unique among studies of gambling's twentieth-century growth thanks to Kerry G.E. Chambers's strong analytical framework -- investigating not only the political aspects of legalization, but also the sociocultural factors that influence popular adoption. Chambers provides a useful chronological examination of the electronic gambling phenomenon, as well as comparative data on dates of introduction and revenues across twenty-three countries. Gambling for Profit provides a dynamic model to explore the legalization of gambling and stresses the inadequacy of seeking universal explanations for gambling's entrenchment within particular cultures.
Search for detailed profiles for both US and International companies in the gaming industry here.
Online Casino Reports
The latest online gambling news stories, bingo, sportsbook, poker and casino breaking news including developing events from across the gambling industry with analysis, commentary, exclusive reports, entertainment and gaming.
The Journal of Foodservice Business Research features articles from international experts in various disciplines, including management, marketing, finance, law, food technology, nutrition, psychology, information systems, anthropology, human resources, and more.
Disseminates information about foodservice research, development, & technical operation.
The International Journal of Food Science & Technology (IJFST) is published for the Institute of Food Science and Technology, the IFST. This authoritative and well-established journal publishes in a wide range of subjects, ranging from pure research in the various sciences associated with food to practical experiments designed to improve technical processes. Subjects covered range from raw material composition to consumer acceptance, from physical properties to food engineering practices, and from quality assurance and safety to storage, distribution, marketing and use.
Provides non-commercial foodservice operators with information about innovations and innovators through trends, news and insights; includes census and market research reports, growth strategies & current and future industry trends.
Serves the field of food service in schools & colleges, hospitals & nursing homes, contract feeders & implant operators.
Larousse Gastronomique: all-new American edition of the world's greatest culinary encyclopedia by
The ultimate guide to classical cuisine, now updated for the era of food processors and microwaves, completely freshly illustrated in full color and Americanized by the renowned author of Tastings. Over 900 full-color photographs and 70 black-and-white illustrations.
A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives, 7th Edition by
An Essential Household Reference…Revised and Updated With our culture’s growing interest in organic foods and healthy eating, it is important to understand what food labels mean and to learn how to read between the lines. This completely revised and updated edition of A Consumer’s Dictionary of Food Additives gives you the facts about the safety and side effects of more than 12,000 ingredients–such as preservatives, food-tainting pesticides, and animal drugs–that end up in food as a result of processing and curing. It tells you what’s safe and what you should leave on the grocery-store shelves. In addition to updated entries that cover the latest medical and scientific research on substances such as food enhancers and preservatives, this must-have guide includes more than 650 new chemicals now commonly used in food. You’ll also find information on modern food-production technologies such as bovine growth hormone and genetically engineered vegetables. Alphabetically organized, cross-referenced, and written in everyday language, this is a precise tool for understanding food labels and knowing which products are best to bring home to your family.
Professional Cooking by
Packed with more than 650 recipes plus 600 variations and more information than ever before, the Seventh Edition of this cornerstone professional resource offers complete, step-by-step instruction in cooking principles and the techniques necessary for success as a professional chef. Wayne Gisslen's Professional Cooking has been used by hundreds of thousands of chefs to master the basics of their craft, including knife skills, knowledge of ingredients, and plating techniques. More than 100 new recipes, including fresh ideas for meats, poultry, vegetables, and grains, as well as an increased focus on international recipes Updated information on the latest nutrition guidelines and enhanced coverage of topics including food science, molecular gastronomy, and culinary math More than 1,000 instructive illustrations and photos, including more than 220 all-new color photos highlighting new recipes and procedures Wayne Gisslen is also the author of Advanced Professional Cooking, Professional Baking, and The Chef's Art, all from Wiley Whether you are studying or training in professional food preparation or just want to take your home cooking to a higher level, this authoritative text is your essential guide to all the most vital professional techniques.
Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia by
Reflecting recent changes in the dynamic world of wine, with special sections devoted to the countries of Southeast Europe and the Eastern Mediterranean, The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia is the most up-to-date and comprehensive wine reference in the world. A remarkable achievement, bridging the gap between the needs of the novice and the experienced professional, The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia is fully illustrated, highly accessible, and contains authoritative information on every wine-related topic.
Encyclopedia of Pasta by
Spaghetti, gnocchi, tagliatellea, ravioli, vincisgrassi, strascinati--pasta in its myriad forms has been a staple of the Mediterranean diet longer than bread. This beautiful volume is the first book to provide a complete history of pasta in Italy, telling its long story via the extravagant variety of shapes it takes and the even greater abundance of names by which it is known. Food scholar Oretta Zanini De Vita traveled to every corner of her native Italy, recording oral histories, delving into long-forgotten family cookbooks, and searching obscure archives to produce this rich and uniquely personal compendium of historical and geographical information. For each entry she includes the primary ingredients, preparation techniques, variant names, and the locality where it is made and eaten. Along the way, Zanini De Vita debunks such culinary myths as Marco Polo's supposed role in pasta's story even as she serves up a feast of new information. Encyclopedia of Pasta, illustrated throughout with original drawings by Luciana Marini, will be the standard reference on one of the world's favorite foods for many years to come, engaging and delighting both general readers and food professionals.
The Cambridge World History of Food by
An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Search for detailed profiles for both US and International companies in the food services industry here.
Conference & Incentive Travel (C&IT)
Conference & Incentive Travel (C&IT) is the UK’s leading brand for the MICE industry. With an unrivalled portfolio of print, digital and live event products, C&IT is a key source to staying in touch with the latest developments and people in the industry.
Journal of Convention & Event Tourism
JCET offers a global, multidisciplinary perspective on the dynamic convention and event tourism industry (MICE). JCET strives to be the leading source of research reports and analysis related to meetings, exhibitions, events and conventions management and operations. In addition to cutting edge viewpoints on trends, innovations, education, and research regarding convention and event tourism.
Corporate Meetings & Incentives
Focuses on meeting planning issues, trends, and events in five focused areas: association, corporate, insurance/financial, religious, and medical.
International Journal of Event and Festival Management
IJEFM take a multidisciplinary approach to sharing knowledge in the field of events and to enhance the uptake of such knowledge by practitioners in the field. Covers events in the broadest sence, from small festivals to mega events and include business events (MICE) as well as special events.
Event Management, an International Journal, has been meeting the research, educational, and analytic needs of the rapidly growing profession focused on global events for more than 20 years. This field has developed and evolved in size and impact globally to become a major business with numerous dedicated facilities and a large scale generator of tourism. The field encompasses meetings, conventions, festivals, expositions, sport, and other special events. Event management is also of considerable importance to government agencies and not for profit organizations in pursuit of a variety of goals, including fundraising, the fostering of causes, and community development.
Winning Meetings and Events for Your Venue by
Meetings and events are a major source of revenue for the venues that host them. But competition to win meetings and events is growing fast as new venues, large and small, are opening up all over the world and existing venues are expanding, refurbishing and modernizing their offer in order to increase their share of this lucrative market.However, in properties ranging from conference centres and hotels to universities and unusual venues such as museums and tourist attractions, busy sales and marketing staff often struggle to keep up to date with the many tools and techniques that can help them bring business to their meeting rooms. New staff in particular often feel the need for a structured, comprehensive guide to sources of business for their venue as well as detailed instruction on the most effective ways of winning meetings and events to fill their meetings spaces and create loyal customers.Winning Meetings and Events for Your Venue is the solution to these issues. It provides a clear and comprehensive guide to the wide range of techniques required by sales and marketing staff to effectively win meetings and events business for their venue. An easy-to read manual setting out the most useful and relevant techniques in a coherent and logical manner, it includes:* Guidance on key tools and techniques from traditional face-to-face selling and negotiating skills and the use of social media to site inspections and exhibiting at trade shows.* Case studies of transferable best practice in this field, drawn from a wide range of venues of all sizes in the UK and overseas. * Advice from experienced sales and marketing venue managers, demonstrating original ideas that really work - and explaining why they work. * Checklists at the end of each chapter summarizing key points and also a short quiz for the reader, to check their level of understanding of the chapter's content.Rob Davidson is a Senior Lecturer at University of Greenwich Business School. He is a respected academic in the meetings and events field, and the accomplished author of seven books and a great many reports on trends and developments in the global meetings industry. He has experience of training venue sales and marketing staff both in the UK and overseas. Indeed, it was his experience of running these training courses that led to the realization that there was a vast untapped market for a manual on this subject.Anthony Hyde is the General Manager - Business Events at the highly-successful Barbican venue in the City of London. He is responsible for the commercial sales, marketing and PR, event management and technical production for conferences, banqueting, exhibitions and corporate hospitality. He has 15 years' experience in meetings and events sales within multi-purpose venues, and is widely recognized in the UK and beyond for his work with MPI - Meetings Professionals International, one of the principal global professional associations for the meetings industry. He was UK President of MPI's UK and Ireland Chapter during 2009/10.
People and Work in Events and Conventions by
The part of the tourism industry which covers events, conventions and meetings is a substantial part of the global economy and provides employment for a very large number of people worldwide. The breakdown of employees in this sector is complex - employees can be full-time, casual labour or part of a volunteer workforce, and events can be as diverse as the Olympic Games and a local meeting. This book examines the role of people who work in events, meetings and conventions by looking at the context in which they work, and presenting theories, perspectives underlying trends of employment in this sector. Leading authors present international examples to further understanding of the concepts involved in people management in tourism events. This book will be an important resource for students and researchers of leisure, tourism and events management.
Event Management and Sustainability by
Sustainable management is an important consideration for businesses and organisations, and the enormous number of tourism events taking place requiring facilities, power, transport, people and much more makes sustainable event planning a considerable priority. By looking at mega events, sports events, conferences and festivals, this book uses best practice case studies to illustrate sustainable management issues and practical considerations that managers need to apply, providing an essential reference for researchers and students in leisure and tourism.
Festival and Events Management by
Festival and Events Management: An International Perspective looks at the central role of events management in the cultural, tourism and arts industries.
Human Resource Management in the Hospitality Industry by
Now in its ninth edition, Human Resource Management in the Hospitality Industry: An Introductory Guide, is fully updated with new legal information, data, statistics and examples. Taking a 'process' approach, it provides the reader with an essential understanding of the purpose, policies and processes concerned with managing an enterprise#65533;s workforce within the current business and social environment. Since the eighth edition of this book there have been many important developments in this field and this ninth edition has been completely revised and updated in the following ways: Extensively updated content to reflect recent issues and trends including: labour markets and industry structure, impacts of IT and social media, growth of international multi #65533; unit brands, role of employer branding, talent management, equal opportunities and managing diversity. All explored specifically within the Hospitality Industry An extended case study drawing from the authors#65533; experience working with Forte and Co., Centre hotels, Choice Hotels and Bass, Price Waterhouse and Grant Thornton explores key issues and shows real life applications of HRM in the Hospitality Industry Supported with new lecturer and students online resources including: PowerPoint slides, additional case studies and links to additional resources. Written in a user friendly style and with strong support from the Institute of Hospitality, each chapter includes international examples, bulleted lists, guides to further reading and exercises to test knowledge.
