Wolfgram Subject Guides: English: Start Here

Use the tabs to navigate the different library resources and to find more information about these topics:

Research Databases: Access specific databases for finding articles best suited for English Literature and Creative Writing research.
Top Scholarly Journals: Find the most frequently accessed English Literature and Creative Writing journals in our collection.
Print Books & eBooks: Identify books with information on English Literature and Creative Writing topics accessible through the Wolfgram Library.
English Literature and Creative Writing Reference: Tools for finding information in a variety of formats.
Web Resources: Find information in web-based information resources.
APA / MLA / CHICAGO Style Guide

... in addition to research tips on:

Boolean Operators
Cited Reference Searching
Citation Management (RefWorks & Zotero)
Evaluating Web Resources
Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly
Using Wikipedia or Twitter for academic research.
Types of Sources (Primary, Secondary, Access Tools)

Library Databases

Recommended Databases for Research in English:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
ASP provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for nearly 140 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Adam Matthew Digital 2018 backlist This link opens in a new window
Discover millions of pages of unique primary source content spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives. Organized by themes such as: Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History, and War and Conflict. Includes a range of additional features to enhance student engagement including Handwritten Text Recognition, Data Visualization, Video and Oral Histories.
AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
Click here for Alexander Street Press Interface
More than 72,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more
Online Tutorial Available Here
Gale in Context | Biography This link opens in a new window
Coverage: current
Biography In Context is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most-searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes more than 4,500 portal pages on the world’s most remarkable contemporary and historical names.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1983 - present
Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's literary databases in one search interface. Currently allows for federated searching and access to Literature Criticism Online and Literature Resource Center.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Online Tutorial Available Here
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism (vol.1 - present), Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (vol.1 - present), Poetry Criticism (vol.1 - present), Short Story Criticism (vol.1 - present), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (vol. 1 - present)
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Current
Information on Journals included in the MLA Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1926 - present
A searchable online database that provides over a million citations to scholarly publications in literature, modern languages, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. For over 20 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies.

NOTE: Be sure to select "Only content I have access to" in the search filters.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
PQC allows you to search multiple top databases within one platform

Online Tutorial Available Here
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences. All articles are available Full Text.

English

Contact Us

Librarian

Related Guides

Use the tabs to navigate the different library resources and to find more information about these topics:

... in addition to research tips on:

Library Databases